Sexual Harassment Mandates

Sexual Harassment Mandates, Regulations, Compliance and Recommendations by State

Alabama None
Alaska None
Arizona None
Arkansas None
California Employers with 5 or more employees must provide two hours of mandatory sexual harassment training to all supervisors within 6 months of becoming a supervisor, and at least 1 hour of training to all other employees, and repeat the training at least once every two years. Training is also required by all public employers regardless of the number of employees. Cal. Gov Code §12950. AB 2053 amends Cal. Gov Code §12950 to "also include prevention of abusive conduct as a component of the training and education..." Transgender and bullying. For detailed AB 1825 and AB 2053 compliant suggestions see Provide at least one hour of interactive training, which also addresses other types of harassment, to employees every two years. Provide at least 2 hours of interactive training, to all supervisors every two years. Training must also include remedies available to victims and must include practical examples illustrating harassment. AB 2053 adds abusive conduct, bullying and transgender to the training requirement.
Colorado No requirements but encourages all employers to take necessary steps to prevent sexual harassment, including sensitizing employees to sexual harassment issues. 3 Colo. Code Regs. § 708-1, Rule 80.11(C).
Connecticut All employers with fifty or more employees must provide two hours of sexual harassment training for supervisors within six months of the start of each supervisor's employment. This can be elearning if it is possible for takers to ask questions and receive answers. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-54(15)(B)). Conn. Agencies Regs. § 46a-54-204. Provide two hours of harassment prevention training to all employees in supervisory roles within six months of the beginning of employment. Training must address state and federal laws prohibiting sexual harassment, definitions, types of conduct that constitutes sexual harassment, and remedies available to victims.
Delaware In workplaces with 50 or more employees, employers are required to provide interactive training on sexual harassment prevention for all existing employees by December 31, 2019, and additional training to supervisors about their responsibilities and the retaliation prohibitions. The training must be provided to all new employees and supervisors within one year of commencement of their position.
District of Columbia None
Florida All supervisors in executive branch agencies must receive training on affirmative action and equal opportunity, which includes sexual harassment. Fla. Admin. Code, Tit. tit. 60L, § 21.004. Provide training on affirmative action and equal opportunity, including sexual harassment.
Georgia None
Hawaii No requirements but encourages employers to take any necessary preventative measures against sexual harassment because prevention is the best way to eliminate sexual harassment. Suggested methods include raising the issue, condemning sexual harassment, and discussing employees’ rights in sexual harassment incidents. Haw. Admin. Rules § 12-46-109(g). Nothing required. Prevention is strongly encouraged.
Idaho None
Illinois Make sexual harassment training in the workplace part of ongoing and new employee training programs. Make sexual harassment training in the workplace part of ongoing and new employee training programs.
Indiana None
Iowa The directors of each department within a state agency and their employees must attend affirmative action, cultural diversity, and sexual harassment prevention training. Provide department directors with affirmative action, cultural diversity, and sexual harassment prevention training.
Kansas None
Kentucky None
Louisiana None
Maine All employers with fifteen or more employees who are located in or doing business in the state of Maine must train all employees about sexual harassment within a year of the beginning of their employment. Supervisors and managers must receive additional training within one year of assuming their positions. 26 Me. Rev. Stat. § 807(3) Training must encompass the definition and illegality of sexual harassment under state and federal laws, samples of sexual harassment, the employer's complaint process, legal recourse and complaint process, and the protection against retaliation.
Maryland No requirements, but when deciding a sexual harassment case, the Maryland Commission on Human Relations will favorably consider steps employers took to prevent sexual harassment. Suggested steps include: Establishing and implementing personnel policies regarding sexual harassers Establishing a complaint process that employees may access if they believe they have experienced sexual harassment Making staff aware of personnel policies, and training staff to recognize and avoid sexual harassment No requirements.
Massachusetts No requirements, but employers are encouraged to provide sexual harassment training to new employees within one year of employment. Employers are also encouraged to provide additional training for managers and supervisors that describes the specific responsibilities of managers and supervisors in sexual harassment incidents. This training should also occur within a year of the commencement of managerial or supervisory duties. M.G.L. c. 151B § 3A(e).
Michigan The Department of Civil Rights is required to provide education and training programs to all employers, labor organizations, and employment agencies in order to help them understand the requirements. Act. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann., § 37.1212.
Minnesota None
Mississippi None
Missouri None
Montana None
Nebraska None
Nevada All state employees must take a certified sexual harassment class within six months of their appointments and must take a certified refresher sexual harassment course every two years after they take the first one. An appointing authority can order any employee to retake a course or to take additional courses. Nev. Admin. Code ch. 284, s. 496
New Hampshire None
New Jersey No requirements, but the New Jersey Supreme Court held that while deciding whether an employer had been negligent in preventing sexual harassment under state law, state court shall consider whether an employer made training available to employees, including supervisors.
New Mexico Primary and secondary education providers and centers are required to train all school personnel at least once a year. N.M.A.C. (C)(11)
New York NEW
North Carolina All state agencies are required to create a unlawful workplace harassment plan, which includes implementation of harassment training and other employee education programs. 25 N.C.A.C. 1J.1101
North Dakota None
Ohio No requirements but suggests that employers take all necessary steps to prevent sexual harassment because prevention is the best way to eliminate it. Raising the issue of, stating disapproval of, developing sanctions against and informing employees of their rights and how to raise the issue of sexual harassment are suggested steps. Ohio Adm. Code 4112-5-05(J)(7).
Oklahoma All state employees who investigate discrimination complaints should have received equal employment opportunity, discrimination, and burdens of proof training. Okla. Stat. Tit. 74, § 840.21(F.1); tit. 530, § 10-3-20.
Oregon None
Pennsylvania State agency employees must receive sexual harassment training, which may include written materials, educational videos, orientation sessions, workplace discussions, and individual counseling. 4 Pa. Code Sec. 7.595
Rhode Island No requirements but employers are also encouraged to conduct education and training programs for new employees within a year of employment and provide additional training for employees in managerial or supervisory roles that describes the responsibilities of managers and supervisors in sexual harassments incidents within one year of commencement of those positions. R.I. Gen. Laws ch. 118,§§ 28-51-2(c), 28-51-3
South Carolina None
South Dakota None
Tennessee The state Department of Personnel must assist each department with planning and delivering sexual harassment prevention training to all public employees. Tenn. Code § 4-3-1703.
Texas All state employees must receive employment discrimination training, which includes sexual harassment issues, within thirty days of the start of employment. Training must be repeated every two years thereafter. Tex. Lab. Code. § 21.010.
Utah All state employers must provide sexual harassment training that is approved by the Department of Human Resource Management and and Risk Management to all employees within ninety days of hire and a refresher training course at least every three years. Utah Admin Code R477-10-4. Sexual harassment training should cover the types of protected class harassment, retaliation, how to report harassment, and make complaints.
Vermont No requirements, but all employers are encouraged to provide a sexual harassment training program to all existing employees and all new employees within one year of the start of employment. Additional training for managers and supervisors is also encouraged. Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 21, §495h(f)
Virginia None
Washington Washington State requires employers in certain industries to provide sexual harassment training. The types of businesses and workers covered under this law include hotels, motels, retail corporations, security guard entities, and property service contractors. The employees who require the training work in a mainly isolated environment, including janitors, security guards, housekeepers, and room service attendants. All state employees must take sexual harassment training in order to prevent and eliminate sexual harassment.
West Virginia None
Wisconsin None but Wisconsin advises employers to provide training to sensitize employees on the issue of harassment and periodically remind them to maintain a harassment free workplace.
Wyoming None

[About Us ]


Human resources departments are notorious for forcing new hires to sit through hours of boring, exaggerated and poorly produced training videos

[ Get In Touch ]

Follow our social media accounts for the
latest news in Employment Harassment
Training or get in touch directly via phone
or email.

[ Contact ]

Address : 1761 Barn Valley Lane, Lincoln, CA

Phone : +1 805 883 8899

Copyright © 2024 Employmee Harassment Training | Credits | Powered By AdsRole

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top